NHSMUN 2019 Country and Committee Assignments!

Preparation for the conference is officially underway! This past Tuesday, our presidents revealed our country and committee assignments. The RZJHS Model UN Team will represent Pakistan at the National High School Model United Nations Conference in New York! We are ecstatic to take on this country and are confident that it will be adequately represented. The conference will be here before we know it, and we can barely contain our excitement!



Here are the committee assignments!

DISEC: Disarmament & International Security Committee
Rikki Drexler and Matan Lieberman
Topic A: Non-State Actors and Asymmetric Warfare in Africa
Topic B: Combating Terrorism in Southeast Asia

ECOFIN: Economic & Financial Committee
Sean Dreifuss and Rachel Hochberg
Topic A: Financing Refugee Resettlement
Topic B: Internationalizing Economies in Sub-Saharan Africa

SOCHUM: Social, Humanitarian & Cultural Committee
Daniel Taitz and Janie Levitan
Topic A: Refugee Displacement from Climate Change and Natural Disasters
Topic B: Addressing Sustainable Development Goals through Prison Reform

SPECPOL: Special Political & Decolonization Committee
Carly Winick and Jake Geringer
Topic A: Explosive Remnants of War
Topic B: Neocolonialism in Africa

WHO: World Health Organization
Molly Hart and Seth Sugar
Topic A: Promoting Suicide Prevention and Reducing Incidences of Suicide
Topic B: Reducing the Burden of Physical Disability

UNESCO: UN Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization
Matyal Meisler and Eitan Noy
Topic A: Preserving Endangered Languages
Topic B: Destruction of Cultural World Heritage Sites in Violent Conflict Zones

UNDP: UN Development Programme
Lily Copley
Topic A: Combating Gender-Based Violence Globally
Topic B: Sustainable Land Management and Restoration

UNTOC: Conference of the Parties to the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime
Maya Resnick and Gabe Wein
Topic A: Combating Wildlife and Forest Crime
Topic B: The Role of the Internet in Transnational Organized Crime

UNHRC: UN Human Rights Council
Maya Scholder and Emma Shriberg
Topic A: Indigenous People and the Justice System
Topic B: The Rights of Individuals with Disabilities in Developing States

CCPCJ: Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice
Alex Bernat and Shai Sklar
Topic A: Preventing the Distribution of Counterfeit and Falsified Medicine
Topic B: Addressing Cyber Crime to Protect Election Legitimacy

WB: World Bank
Matt Weiss and Avital Strauss
Topic A: Increasing Intra-Regional Trade in South Asia
Topic B: Child Labor in Southeast Asia

UNPBC: UN Peacebuilding Commission
Coby Resnick and Rachel Cope
Topic A: The Situation in Lebanon
Topic B: The Situation in Nagorno-Karabakh

UNESCAP: UN Economic & Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific
Noam Efergan and Arielle Bledsoe
Topic A: Addressing Barriers Faced by Minority Groups in the Workplace
Topic B: Developing Mental Health Policy and Improving Outcomes

We also have the privilege of having multiple representatives on specialized committees. These students represent different countries, but are still crucial to the team’s success. Preparation for these committees is difficult, but we are certain that these students will do well.

Specialized Committees:

UNSC: UN Security Council (representing United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
Jonathan Taitz and Shachar Rosenblatt
Topic A: The Situation in Myanmar
Topic B: The Situation in the Central African Republic

HSC: Historical Security Council (representing China)
David Levin and Koby Rosen
Topic A: The Situation in Lebanon, 1988
Topic B: The Situation in Somalia, 1988

ICJ: International Court of Justice (independent judge)
Betsy Winick
Topic A: The Legal Status of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
Topic B: Guyana v. Venezuela

ICC: International Criminal Court (independent judge)
Ethan Harris
Topic A: The Situation in Mexico
Topic B: The Situation in Myanmar

Crisis Committee (Minister of Education, Science, and Technology)
Brian Silverstein
Topic: Salva Kiir Mayardit Executive Cabinet: South Sudanese Civil War

Historical Crisis Committee (Minister of Law and Justice)
Ben Lesch
Topic: Indira Gandhi’s Cabinet (1971)

CoEU: Council of the European Union (representing Denmark)
Nitzan Aaron
Topic: Euroscepticism within Poland and Hungary

IAEA: International Atomic Energy Agency (representing Japan)
Jason Ross
Topic: Feasibility of Nuclear Energy in Developing Countries

We are thrilled to announce these partnerships and cannot wait to read everyone’s papers. As we are officially in full swing in preparation for the conference, we know that this is a hard process. Keep in mind that in the end all the work is worth it. We will continue to keep you all updated with  as we near the conference!